Art Stamper – Wake Up Darlin’ Corey by Art Stamper — 3017-4

Category: SKU: 3017-4.


Out of stock

While hospitalized for chemotherapy, Art told pal Harry Bickel: “When I get out of here, I want you, me and Doc to record an album of old-time music.”┬áThis album is the result.

Featuring: Art Stamper, fiddles; Harry Bickel, banjo; Doc Hamilton, guitar; Tim O’Brien, guitar and vocals.

Track Listing (click a link to hear samples):

  1. Blackjack Grove
  2. Wake Up Darlin’ Corey
  3. Duck River
  4. Old Arkansas
  5. Hickory Jack
  6. Moonshiner
  7. Posssum Up a ‘Simmon Tree
  8. Sweet Dixie
  9. Little Birdie
  10. Rose in the Mountain
  11. Train Forty Five
  12. Trouble on My Mind
  13. Old Kentucky Whiskey
  14. Lorena

HiramStamper-175pxArt Stamper played and taught the Appalachian fiddle style he learned from his father, Hiram, and that Hiram learned from old-time fiddlers who learned their tunes years earlier.

Art also played bluegrass fiddle with some of the greatest names in bluegrass, like Ralph and Carter Stanley, Bill Monroe, Larry Sparks, the Goins Brothers, Jim and Jesse.

Whether playing Appalachian fiddle or bluegrass fiddle, Art was a musical marvel. There are many great fiddlers, but only one Art Stamper. Listen for yourself and see.


Art Stamper